The TechPacker
The TechPacker
Useful tech for travel: Arrival in Shanghai
0:00
-3:07

Useful tech for travel: Arrival in Shanghai

Recorded on the Shanghai Metro while traveling into the city - yesterday afternoon

Using the Alipay app on arrival in Shanghai was interesting because I couldn't use it to access the Metro straight away. I had to take an intermediate step and validate my passport, which I didn't realise I had to do.

Getting ready to leave Wellington
Sun going down on the way to an unexpected overnight stay in Auckland - see previous notes and posts

Fortunately, I had the HolaFly World eSIM, so that was all working fine, and I had a 5G connection. I managed to validate my passport on the Alipay app, and now I have a Metro card loaded onto my iPhone. I can use that to ride the metro, and it'll directly charge my New Zealand bank account. It's the Visa Debit card associated with that account.

I've got about an hour and a half journey. I'm on line 2, and then I have to change to line 13. It's 7 yuan, which is just under, I don't know, two dollars New Zealand, so maybe like $1.30 USD to do this quite long trip. I could have taken the Maglev. I've taken the Maglev before, so it's not a new experience for me. I could take it on the way back to the airport or when I come back through Shanghai again in about 16 days from now.

We took quite a detour to avoid the tail end of Typhoon Bebinca

The other tech that has amazed me today was the Wi-Fi on the plane. Wi-Fi at 30,000 feet still amazes me. I managed a delivery at Hope from 30,000 feet above the Pacific Ocean. That is amazing. I know it's kind of old for some of you, but that still absolutely does my head in. I watched the six episodes of the first of the prequel series of Game of Thrones, which was fun.

I've lost a day on this delay. I should have been here at 6am. It wouldn't have been too pleasant, but it is now almost 5.20pm that I'm on my way into Shanghai. By the time I get to my hotel, it will be around 7pm, so there's really only going to be time to go and have a little wander, have something to eat, and then get my head down and catch up with sleep. I was up at 3.45am to go to the airport and check in because I had to fly in from Wellington last night and stay in the Ibis budget hotel, as there was no early flight that would connect with my Auckland flight to Shanghai.

Flashy Starbucks in Shanghai. But I was wheeling my duffel bag to the hotel. Far too late for coffee anyway

I have noticed some of my tech is starting to let me down, namely and specifically my AirPods Pro. I'm noticing I'm getting less battery life out of them, and it may be time for an upgrade. Not quite yet, though, but that might be a Christmas present on Santa's list, I think. I'm not sure if I'm going to replace them with AirPods Pro again or go with the new AirPods that have been released. I will try and figure out what's the best option for me and let you know my decision.

There are times when the 13 mini battery life just really lets me down. When I'm travelling this intensely, I really need something with a bit more staying power. The 13 mini was great for a particular lifestyle that I had, but now that I'm travelling a lot more, I really do need that upgrade to the 16 Pro, which I've already put my order in for.

Apologies for typos. Operating on a slimmed down tech portfolio, while cooling down on the afternoon following this journey. More soon.

Before the plane filled up and I got moved. Another post explaining this soon.

Discussion about this podcast

The TechPacker
The TechPacker
Discovering the intermittent nomad life: Testing and curating the best travel tech, gear & tips to make your life easier and a little more exciting.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sarb Johal
Recent Episodes