Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

Delayed. And then delayed again.

I was going to Shanghai tonight. Then it was 6am tomorrow. Now it's 7.30am. I'm not liking the trend.
2

I’m holed up in the Ibis Budget Hotel at Auckland Airport.

This is how I found out that $250 doesn't get you a whole lot of hotel room when you’re looking for a same day booking at 2pm.

I didn’t plan this.

But Typhoon Bebinca is closing in on Shanghai and everything that was going to be put up in the air should probably stay grounded for now.

This all started at 2pm. But Air New Zealand - at that stage - still had to get me to Auckland to connect with a 6am flight. There was no option to fly me from Wellington the next morning to connect with that flight.

But that left me with 12 hours overnight in Auckland.

So, what was I supposed to do?

One option was to fly to Singapore and connect with a flight to Shanghai from there, but that sold out as the agent mentioned the option to me.

Things were happening fast. As they do when Air New Zealand flights get thrown off schedule.

There ain’t a lot of choices flying in and out of here.

Overall, Air New Zealand have been pretty good about it. Kudos to them for how they’ve dealt with this difficult issue with me.

More in the video, including how I backed out of an upgrade with Air New Zealand.

Anyone reading this in the same boat?

p.s this hotel wifi is soooooo slow. I need to get my head down!

Leave a comment

The TechPacker is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

The TechPacker
The TechPacker
Authors
Sarb Johal